WEDS, 20th NOV 2019

7.30pm - 11.00pm

£15.00 adv + bf / £12.00 Student Ticket adv + bf


It is with great pride and excitement that we present this stellar orchestra,

The Brotherhood Of Breath.

This all-star line up of musicians is not only a tribute to the late founder Chris McGregor, but one of the great ensembles of our times: Brotherhood Of Breath’s set-list comprises compositions of the pianist/ composer as well arrangements of those of his cohorts, Ernest Mothle, Peter Segona, Dudu Pukwana. As elements of South African township music, afrobeat and nuances of Duke Ellington collide, the heritage and quality of musicianship shines through in a celebration of ensemble and solo creativity and raw intensity.

Previous members of the band include Harry Miller, Mongezi Feza, Harry Beckett, Evan Parker, Louis Moholo, Dudu Pukwana, Mike Osborne, John Surman, Lol Coxhill.

London Jazz News

“Remembrance, party, celebration, reunion, explanation, and music which is deeply necessary all rolled in to one. Why isn’t this band at every festival?”


“Heartfelt and uplifting – very fine, unique and characterful music”


Saxophones: Steve Williamson, Julian Nicholas, Dave Bitelli, Frank Williams, Robbie Juritz.

Trumpets: Claude Deppa, Byron Wallen, Chris Batchelor.

Trombones: Annie Whitehead, Fayyaz Virji.

Piano: Alastair Gavin. Bass: Curtis Ruiz. Drums: Steve Arguelles