High Wire Records presents KillerStar + Emm Gryner
KillerStar UK album release gig

(KillerStar musicians on this gig: Rob Fleming, James Sedge, Earl Slick, Mark Plati, Emm Gryner, Dom Beken)

KillerStar is a new band led by Rob Fleming (vocals, guitar, synths) and James Sedge (drums). With songs written by Rob and James the self-titled album features an array of special guests throughout – David Bowie’s most trusted collaborators: Mike Garson on piano, Earl Slick and Mark Plati on guitar, Gail Ann Dorsey and Tim Lefebvre on bass, Emm Gryner on backing vocals, and Donny McCaslin on saxophone. Collectively they have crafted a sound which fuses the scale of classic rock with sophisticated harmonies and elements of art rock. KillerStar is rooted in Rob and James’s love of timeless music from the early 1970s to primeval rock ‘n’ roll and sleek hard rock, but its synth textures driving guitar driven intensity and catchy hooks provides a contemporary edge too.

Collectively, the KillerStar album’s guest musicians have contributed to almost every era of Bowie’s vast discography, from the landmark ‘Aladdin Sane’ to the final goodbye of ‘Blackstar’. Although, while the KillerStar name references one of Bowie’s relatively deeper cuts, the album really doesn’t feel like an homage to The Thin White Duke. And that’s simply because it was never intended to be one. Rob and James wrote the songs and had recorded the first KillerStar demos independently, without any advance planning on who else would be involved.

As you’ll hear on KillerStar’s eponymously named album, there are fleeting touches that recall classic Bowie moments, but really this is something altogether new and exciting.

Earl Slick says, Since Bowie died, we’ve all gone off in different directions, but with this album we worked on new material and that was great.”

The KillerStar musicans for this gig are:
Rob FlemingVocals Guitar, Synths
James SedgeDrums & Percussion
KillerStar is led by Rob Fleming and James Sedge. Together Rob and James produced the KillerStar album, which was mixed by Dave Eringa (Manic Street Preachers, Idlewild).
Earl Slick Guitar Acclaimed guitarist Earl Slick is well known for his long-time collaboration with David Bowie, touring with him for many years and playing guitar on seminal albums Station to Station and Young Americans. He also worked with John Lennon and Yoko Ono, playing on the albums Double Fantasy and Milk&Honey. He has also worked with other artists including Robert Smith, in addition to releasing several solo recordings
Mark Plati Bass Mark Plati is a bass player, record producer and songwriter. Mark has been widely acclaimed for his work in the 1990s with David Bowie. He was a producer/mixer on a number of Bowie’s albums, as well as appearing on many and touring extensively as part of his band. Mark has also worked with the likes of Lou Reed, Fleetwood Mac and Natalie Imbruglia.
Emm Gryner Backing Vocals Emm Gryner is a successful solo recording artist, with 3 albums nominated for Juno Awards. Emm sang in David Bowie’s band, recording and touring with him extensively. She also appears on albums by Def Leppard and Rob Zombie.

Dom Beken – Keyboards Dom Beken is a BAFTA nominated composer, keyboardist and producer. He’s currently the keyboardist and backing vocalist for Nick Mason’s (Pink Floyd) Saucerful of Secrets. He was previously a member of The Orb. He has also collaborated with Youth and done sound work for the likes of Rick Wright (Pink Floyd), David Bowie, Placebo.

Support from Emm Gryner
Emm Gryner opens the night with songs from her latest solo album ‘Business & Pleasure’ and classics from previous releases. With her own band she has released many albums and been nominated 3 times for a prestigious Juno Award. Previously Emm sang and played keyboards in David Bowie’s band. She also recorded with Def Leppard on their recent acclaimed album ‘Drastic Symphonies’.